top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSydney Amodio

Lifestyle & challenges of living in the Amazon

I have now been living in the Peruvian Amazon for two weeks. I spent my last night at home watching a Netflix movie with my family while snacking on some popcorn with my dog curled up in my lap. So much has passed in the time that followed, and now something as simple as air conditioning is a luxury. Every day presents challenges— From the moment I wake up and crawl out of the mosquito net that covers my bed to the end of the day when I tuck myself back in. Living in the Amazon has its inherent risks, and many challenges are a result of combating these dangers and the effects of the natural environment taking over.

I want to share these details, not with an attitude of complaint, but to paint a picture of what life is like here. The experience of living in the Amazon has given me a greater appreciation for the basic amenities I take advantage of when I am at home. I consider the rough patches as blessings—chances to learn and grow .

My days usually begin around 6:30 in the morning when I awaken in my protective mosquito net, which keeps the disease-carriers away from my bed at night. After breakfast, I brush my teeth with the purified water in my water bottle as opposed to potentially contaminated water from the sink. I take malaria pills with every morning meal and potassium supplements later in the day.

Classes and program activities occur six days a week, making for an academically rigorous environment. There is no typical day when it comes to classroom activities and we often find ourselves rushing from the jungle to the next lecture. Some days we are setting camera traps to capture wildlife images and other days we are collecting plant specimens. The program also consists of several field excursions, which involve academic trips outside of the field station.

The jungle itself is stunning. I have had luck in observing some interesting animals including squirrel monkeys, blue morpho butterflies, a poison-dart frog, and many bold-colored insects. Our camera traps have also revealed that jaguarundi live in this part of the rainforest.

The classes I take here cover a range of topics related to Amazonia—political ecology, tropical ecology, conservation science, culture and language, and directed research. The schedule of these classes differs from week to week. Lectures are often hindered by loud storms and a projector that never wants to stay on.

I study in the afternoon, although distractions are not hard to come by. Power outages occur consistently; I have studied in the dark with bugs swarming on my bright laptop screen. The heat can also be distracting. Due to the high humidity here and lack of air conditioning, we are sweating for much of the day. We have a pool here too cool off, but I have only been able to use it twice since my arrival because of the difficulty managing it.

Part of our campus on a stormy day. The pool is useful to cool off from the heat, but managing it in the middle of the jungle has proved to be a tricky task.


High humidity also means that nothing ever dries completely. After washing our clothes, we hang them underneath a solar panel to dry but the humidity takes over eventually. I fold few of my clothes, and instead hang them in my room and outside to keep them from becoming moldy or musty. I also re-wear my clothes multiple times a week. There is only one mirror at the field station, so one’s appearance is of little concern.

Unsurprisingly, there is little internet access and cell phone service. Only five of the 20 students can use the internet provided to our computers by Ethernet cords at a single time. I have an international data plan for my phone but it is slow and only certain apps function.

The food here is delicious, something I was nervous about. We have amazing cooks on our campus. The meals are not made from processed food; the ingredients mostly come from nearby markets. I often find a small bug or two crawling on my food. At home this is something that would make me squirm, but here it is the norm.

Animals pop up everywhere on campus. A frog may fall from the ceiling as we’re doing dishes or schoolwork. Bats are a constant nuisance. Large spiders will make a home in our classroom.

Mosquitoes, unfortunately, are a large part of the experience. My vaccinations and medications do not protect me from all potential diseases carried by these creatures. The rest are combated using layers and bug repellent. Every evening, at 6 pm, what we call “malaria hour” commences and we don long pants, closed-toed shoes and bug lotion with DEET. When out in the field we wear long-sleeves, even on the hottest of days.

Although I have been bitten by mosquitos several times, I have not run into many other dangerous animals because of their elusive nature. Regardless, at night I always use my headlamp to scope out the area for snakes and other creatures.

Some students opt to wear face nets to protect from the mosquitos that are prevalent foes in the jungle.

Our campus is mostly a waste-free environment. We use rags in place of paper towels, compost almost all the leftover bits of food on our plates, and by nature of this environment, we have limited water and electricity. Oftentimes toilets will run low on water and we will fill buckets with water from the shower to re-fill the toilet bowls.

Our community is extremely close-knit. We play volleyball with our cooks and eat meals with our professors. All 20 students live in a small set of dorms and participate in the same group bonding activities. We live within a surrounding community that does not receive a lot of tourists—especially not a large group like ours. We draw attention everywhere we go and often find local Peruvians filming us or taking our photographs.

Studying abroad necessitates adjustment, however, living in the Amazon provides an entirely unique set of challenges and changes. I am curious about how this lifestyle will affect my perspective upon my return home. I may reevaluate the creature comforts that are so prevalent—some things I may approach with a greater appreciation, while others I may find are no longer necessary.


16 views0 comments
bottom of page